Where were you???

Standard

Every September 11th, I take a class day to remember those who were involved in the terrorist attacks, alive and gone. Every year I show my students news footage of that morning, now 11 years ago, as well as read them the New York Times article from the day after.

It saddens me to see the interest slip away as the generations become more and more distant from that somber day. The attitudes and opinions make my heart hurt for those in my generations and older that remember everything about Tuesday, September,11, 2001.

I was sitting at my desk at Jones Hearing Aid Center getting ready for the day to really get started. As I was listening to the talk radio station, as I always did, I heard reports of one of the Twin Towers was burning and they had believed it had been hit by a plane. (we were yet to think terrorist)My fellow coworkers and I rushed into the lab where the TVs were so that we could watch live footage. It was a few minutes later that we watched in horror as the 2nd plane hit the South tower…and then the 3rd hit the Pentagon….and the crash land of the 4th plane in Pennsylvania.

The rest of the day is kind of blurry; however, I know that I watched more news coverage in that next week than I had ever before.

I pray that we as a culture make it a point to embrace being a proud American and celebrate the lives lost during this tragic event. I pray that ignorance is lost to compassion. I pray that this next generation will not have a day etched in their memory.

Where were you???

About talesofanormalgirl

I am just a "normal" girl from Texas. I have a wonderful family, hubs (married in 08), son (born in 09) and daughter (born in 11) and another daughter (born in 14). I am an Assistant Principal at a local high school and in my spare time I love to write. I also say I will write more when more time is available. Well, time is starting to become more available. I hope you enjoy.

Let me hear from you...

